New name for the Summit Walkway – Te Ara Pātaka

The name Te Ara Pātaka has been now been chosen for the track that covers Gebbies Pass to the Hilltop by the four Banks Peninsula rūnanga – Ōnuku (Akaroa), Koukourārata (Port Levy), Waiwera (Little River) and Ngāti Wheke (Rāpaki). Parts of this track were formerly known as the Summit Walkway, double fence line or Mt Herbert Walkway, and in the early stages of the project the Trust and DOC had used the working name Spine of the Lizard. Once consultation commenced, this was found to be culturally inappropriate, and the project reverted to Summit Walkway while further consultation took place. The new name selected by the four rūnanga refers to the te reo name for Banks Peninsula – Te Pātaka o Rākaihautū (the food basket of Rākaihautū), which acknowledges the mana whenua’s tūpuna and deep connection to their history and landscape.

The Trust is proud to be championing the Māori language and culture. Track entrance signs, waymarking and track work are now underway using the new name, and the Trust hopes to work alongside the Banks Peninsula rūnanga to gather input for interpretation panels to include the stories and history of the mana whenua. The original name of the Summit Walkway is being during the transition period to honour the work of Harry Ell in developing this network.