Welcome new Trustees and Farewell to retiring Trustees

Trust welcomes aboard four new Trustees: Richard Suggate, Bryan Storey, Maureen McCloy and Paul McNoe starting July 1.  All have strong connections with the Peninsula and bring a breadth of expertise to the Board.  Richard has recently retired after 27 years work for Department of Conservation, including as Manager of the North Canterbury area (including Banks Peninsula) and most recently as its National Business Development Manager, forging relationships with corporate partners such as Fonterra. Bryan retires as Professor of Antarctic Studies at University of Canterbury and Director of Gateway Antarctica in June. From his knowledge of climate change he is passionate about sustainable management and conservation, particularly around recreation activities. Maureen is the Corporate Services Manager of YHA New Zealand and serves its Board as National Secretary. YHA New Zealand began with a network of hostels on Banks Peninsula and shares with the Trust goals to get more young people active in the outdoors. Paul is Chief Executive of Red Bus, and will bring to the Board his skills in financial management and a good understanding of tourism on Banks Peninsula as Red Bus runs the Akaroa Shuttle – the principle bus service from Christchurch.

At the same time we bid a sad farewell to our retiring Trustees Stuart Wright-Stow (one of the founding trustees), Debbie Tikao and Brian Patrick for their many and varied contributions to the Trust.

The role of Trustee is a voluntary one and Trustees put in many hours preparing for meetings to ensure that the Trust is well governed.